Amb Obiozor Dedicates His CON Honour To Contemporary Igbo Generations

By Adadainfo
The president general of Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide, Amb Prof George Obiozor, has dedicated his national honour of Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) to the present and future Igbo generations.
The honour will be conferred on Amb Obiozor by President Muhammadu Buhari, alongside other selected Nigerians and non-Nigerians, numbering over 437 today in Abuja.
Obiozor’s dedication of his award to contemporary Igbo generations was contained in a statement by Ohanaeze’s national publicity secretary, Dr Alex Ogbonnia, which was made available to Adadainfo in Owerri.
Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide, in the statement, congratulated other Igbo sons and daughters that will receive various categories of honours during the event.
Dr Ogbonnia stated that, “Professor Obiozor, in his reflections, dedicates the national honour to the present and future generations of Ndigbo.
“Obiozor is an erudite scholar, seasoned diplomat, bureaucrat, author and silent achiever. The renowned scholar has served Nigeria meritoriously as the director-general, Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, Lagos; high commissioner to Cyprus; Nigerian ambassador to the State of Israel and the Nigerian ambassador to the United States of America.
“He was elected as the president general of Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide on Sunday January 9, 2021.
“Since his assumption of office as the president general of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Obiozor has deployed his prowess in the advocacy for a Nigerian president from the South East of Nigeria come 2023. We are therefore very excited that the national honour to our elder statesman is coming at the most defining period of the Igbo history and also at the most intriguing chapter in his life as the leader of Ndigbo.”
Ohanaeze also congratulated other recipients, including Dr Ngozi Okonjo Iweala, the director general, World Trade Organisation, who will be bestowed with the Grand Commander of the Niger (GCON).
Our correspondent reports that other illustrious Igbo recipients that made the list as the Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR) include Gen Lucky E.O. Irabor, HRM Igwe Amb Lawrence Agubuzu, HRM Eze (Dr) E.C. Okeke, HRM Eze Joseph Ndubuisi Nwabeke, HRM Eze Charles N. Nkpuma and Chief Tony O. Elumelu.
Those that bagged the Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) include  Engr David Nweze Umahi, Chief Lawrence Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Sen Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu, Sen Chukwuka Godfrey Utazi, Dr. Innocent Chukwuma, Chief Chidi Anyaegbu, Prof Benedict Okechukwu Oramah, Dr Allen Onyema, HRM Dr Benjamin Ikechuku Dein; HRH Prof Laz Edward Nnanyelu Ekwueme and Engr (Dr) Chukwuemeka Okwuosa.
Adadainfo is an online newspaper reporting Nigerian news. Email: Phone: 08071790941

Leave a Reply