Four Kogi Assembly Principal Officers Impeached Over Gross Misconduct

By Adadareporters

Four principal officers of the Kogi State House of Assembly were Friday impeached while three others were suspended.

They were punished by their 17 colleagues over what they called ‘goss misconduct’.

The impeachment and suspension were effected on the floor of the House during an emergency sitting on Friday following the adoption of a motion by the 17 members.

The motion was read by Hon Enema Paul (APC-Dekina II), and seconded by Hon Ibrahim Usman (APC-Adavi).

Our correspondent reports that the impeached principal officers are Hon Ahmed Mohammed, deputy speaker; Bello Hassan Abdullahi, majority leader; Ndako Idris, deputy majority leader and Edoko Moses Ododo, deputy chief whip.

Hon Enema Paul called for their immediate replacement as ‘the House cannot exist in vacuum’.

In his words, “We the undersigned honourable members of the Kogi State House of Assembly do hereby resolve to impeach the four principal officers.

“We also resolved to replace them with Hon Rabiu Momoh Alfa, deputy speaker; Hon Bajeh Mukhtar, majority leader; Hon Umar Tenimu Isa, deputy majority leader and Hon Enema Paul, deputy chief whip.”

The House also suspended the impeached deputy speaker, Ahmed Mohammed; Bello Hassan Abdullahi, majority leader and Edoko Moses Ododo, deputy chief whip, while Ndako Idris, deputy majority leader, was demoted to a floor member.

The speaker, Prince Matthew Kolawole, inquired if the 17 members signed the document, after which the motion became effective.

The speaker therefore directed the clerk of the House to call out the new principal officers after which they were inaugurated.

The House also dissolved the Standing Committees and constituted new ones for enhanced duty delivery.

Adadainfo is an online newspaper reporting Nigerian news. Email: Phone: 08071790941

Leave a Reply