Appeal Court Justices That Discharged Nnamdi Kanu Transferred

By Adadainfo

The three Court of Appeal justices that ruled against the federal government in a suit filed by Mazi Nnamdi Kanu over his rendition from Kenya to Nigeria without following the due process have been transferred.
The justices in a unanimous decision discharged Kanu, although the federal government has appealed the ruling, and also interpreted Kanu’s discharge not to mean acquittal.
According to the Vanguard, whereas the presiding justice, Jummai Hanatu Sankey, who was hitherto in the Gombe Division of the court, has been moved to Awka Division, Justice Oludotun Adetope-Okojie, who delivered the lead judgement, was transferred to Owerri, while the third member of the panel, Justice Ebiowei Tobi, was moved to Gombe.
Quoting Vanguard, “A memo dated October 17, which was signed by the president of the Court of Appeal, Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem, stressed that the new posting for the justices was with immediate effect as they were expected to report to their new stations by October 21.”
Kanu is presently in the custody of the DSS in Abuja, where he is facing charges over alleged running a proscribed group, jumping bail and treason, among others.

An Umuahia High Court earlier ruled against the federal government on jumping bail, and awarded damages to Kanu.

Adadainfo is an online newspaper reporting Nigerian news. Email: Phone: 08071790941

Leave a Reply